A Girl And Her Guide Dog #7: A quick, long overdue, update!

It has been almost nearly 3 weeks since I wrote a blog post. There are several reasons for this, which are all kind of boring so I won’t bother mentioning them. Instead I will try to remember what I have been doing these past couple of weeks.

 

Since my last blog post, when my leg injuries seemed as if they weren’t getting any better, I have pretty much healed. Well at least I’m not in crazy amounts of pain every time I take a step. Which makes it much easier to do guide dog training.

 

Jemima has now been to 1 restaurant, 1 concert at my old high school, 2 Uni lectures, 2 choir rehearsals, 2 dinners at my grandparents’, 3 theatre productions and 4 two and a half hour tutorials. We have been just a bit busy! We are getting to and around uni with mostly no problems and no more adventures into water feature things. She is very well behaved in class and of course everybody loves her. I’m still getting used to telling a thousand strangers over and over again, to please not pat her because she is working and not just sitting at my feet while I study for fun. But It’s like I don’t even exist…people see a dog and they go completely crazy.

 

There was a very embarrassing incident when I was walking down Collins street and even though I’d toileted her before we left home not long before…she decided to just stop and poo. No warning. She just stopped, dropped and plopped. Right there…in the middle of the city. I was convinced it was my fault and I’d ruined her forever. But when I shamefacedly relayed the story to my instructor the next day, she wasn’t too concerned. I was still mortified though.

 

We have started working on our nice relaxing walk to the local shops again, now that my dumb leg is better and I’m not hobbling the entire way. I enjoy it much more than doing the route to uni. It’s so much less hectic.

 

The escalator scenario is coming along nicely. I don’t want to jinx it, but the last time we did them she got on and off pretty happily. I have special treats for her now, that she only gets when she gets on the escalator. It’s pretty much about her trusting me and knowing that neither of us is going to get hurt if we get on the escalators.

 

I am sick of writing the word escalator!!

 

Things are definitely, slowly, getting easier. But it is still a tiring process and there are new, and sometimes unexpected, challenges all the time.

 

Hopefully I’ll be back soon. I just thought a quick update was in order. XXX

 

P.S. Sorry for the lack of cute Jemima photo. The internet is currently not my friend…

 

 

Leave a Reply

