A Girl And Her Guide Dog #2: Please Welcome To The Stage…Jemima

I don’t really know where to start with day 1…

I am so tired. Which may seem pathetic, but honestly. I am wrecked.

Jemima the dog has to be right next to me all the time. Every second. Of every hour. Of every day. Except when she’s asleep at night in the laundry. I just can’t have her sleeping in my room. I don’t think I could handle that, and that’s OK! YAY!

Everywhere I go…she goes. It’s all part of the process, and apparently it isn’t forever. I feel like it is going to take me a hundred years to work this all out. I’m not sure if I’m even in the right headspace to write a blog post right now…but let’s plough on forward and see where we end up.

A few highlights from day 1:

Jemima decided she wouldn’t do a wee. I swear I took her out at least 6 times and every time she just plonked herself down and refused to move…like ever. She just lay on the grass and decided I wasn’t worth listening to, and that a nap was a much better use of her time.

When she finally decided that she could be bothered going to the toilet, I got wee on my hands…which I very much did not enjoy. Princess…remember?

Fun Fact: the toileting harness that I’ve been given is bright pink! Somebody at guide dogs knows me well.

We walked to my bust stop twice and that was pretty cool. Jemima dodged a stupid gardening truck that was blocking my path. We also went down that hill at breakneck speed compared to my usual cane amble.

I spent at least 20 minutes trying to work out the logistics of dinner time. I was so confused…

Oh yeah…the adorable unicorn I bought and so lovingly presented her with this afternoon…She tore it to absolute shreds!! I mean, I was half expecting it. But I was still shocked when within an hour and a half of having it she had ripped off its ears, horn, and tail, and pulled out half its stuffing. That poor poor unicorn. It’s now just a body and head with fluff pouring out its skull.

There is so much thinking involved. It takes me about 4 times as long to go through a doorway. I need to make her sit and wait and sit and wait and sit and wait so we can both get through the door with all faces, paws and tails intact.

Not to mention I still need to do my uni work/other work. My brain hurts.

Oh yeah. As you may have guessed, I’m not a fan of the dog hair and saliva all over the house, or the doggy smell. But I suppose I’ll get used to all that stuff.

I truly don’t mean to sound horrible. But I’m not here to tell you that it’s all an amazing, breezy experience. It’s hard and it’s tiring and today I almost sort of had a little, tiny bit of a breakdown. When I stepped on her a couple of times and she wouldn’t listen to me.

And its only day one y’all!!! Woo!

We shall se how night one goes. Maybe I’ll feel like I’ve made some sort of progress tomorrow.

See you then!

Much love XX

 

 

Leave a Reply

