Book Nerds’ Corner: The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I normally steer clear of fantasy. I probably shouldn’t. But it just isn’t what I gravitate towards. This book however grabbed my attention straight away. I’ll let the blurb do the explaining…blurbs always do a much better job of explaining  than I can.

 

What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

 

The reason I enjoyed this book was that much like rainbow Rowell’s Carry On, but in a very different way, this story subverts the “Chosen One” trope that is so successful in fantasy worlds. I love a good chosen one story…Hello! Harry Potter. But I love looking at the flip side of that world even more. Maybe it’s because I love back stories and behind the scenes so much.

 

I think I enjoyed the concept of this book more than the story itself. It was enjoyable to read, but it didn’t really stay with me afterwards. To be entirely honest I don’t even remember what the threat was…I have vague ideas about an alternative world. Nothing concrete though. I suppose that’s kind of the point though isn’t it?

The stand out parts for me were the outline of the A story at the beginning of each chapter and the attack at the boyband concert that Mel and Mike had to take their fangirl little sister to. I loved that none of the “B story” characters wanted or needed any of the fantasy shit. I think that’s what annoys me about some fantasy…why do these people just dive head first into these unknown, and usually dangerous, situations? I sure as hell wouldn’t. But I guess that’s what makes them heroic and me average. I do actually have some sense of self preservation.

 

There’s plenty of action and tension and romance. And not nearly as much seeking of glory or saving the day. Which is perfectly fine by me. The ending, although quite open ended, was oddly satisfying. I was pleasantly tickled by this book, if not particularly thrilled.

 

I think this is definitely worth a read for anybody who like me, has ever wondered what happens to those other kids who aren’t Harry, Ron and Hermione, Bella and Edward, or Katniss. (notice how I can only think of really obvious chosen ones…) If you can recommend any other ‘other side of fantasy’ sort of books, I’m all ears!

 

Until next time xxx

 

Leave a Reply

