Chatty Tuesday (on Wednesday): Finding Dori

I know! I know! Its Wednesday! Not that anybody else cares too much…but I do. Chatty Tuesday is for Tuesdays not Wednesdays. Anyway here I am even though its Wednesday. I think I forgot it was Tuesday yesterday…don’t ask me how that’s possible…

 

Finding Dori. Yes, I finally saw it. I ummed and aahhhed about it for ages. Many people told me not to bother, it wasn’t worth it. But when my friend, let’s call her Mable, suggested we take a trip to the movies to see Dori I agreed. She was excited, I was ambivalent, we bought salty and sugary food and prepared ourselves for a fun afternoon.

 

I wish I could say my ambivalence was turned around, I really do, but unfortunately ambivalent was the prevailing emotion of the day. I so wanted to be excited but I didn’t want to end up underwhelmed. This seems to be a theme in my life lately. See last week’s post on Harry Potter.

It wasn’t a bad movie by any means. Disney just made a decision to cater to a new audience of kids who probably weren’t even born in 2003 when ‘Finding Nemo’ was released rather then going for the nostalgia factor that all of us oldies would’ve appreciated. There really wasn’t much in it for the adults. I think, for me, that’s what makes movies like Toy Story, The Incredibles, A Bug’s Life and Shrek (yes I know that isn’t a Disney Pixar film( stand the test of time. They’re kid’s movies but there’s always a nod to the adult audience. I can’t honestly remember if ‘Finding Nemo’ had the same sort of thing…but I’m almost certain it did. Dori on the other hand was strictly a kid’s movie, which like I said, doesn’t make it bad it just wasn’t that enjoyable for a 22-year-old.

Maybe I was in a bad headspace that day but I just felt flat afterwards. Ellen wasn’t as high energy with Dori this time around, I think the jokes were less funny, and the octopus driving a truck just lost me… (note I am totally fine with a bunch of toys driving a pizza truck in Toy Story 2) maybe I’m just getting old and bitter.

 

baby dori
Baby Dori

 

Anyway I thought the baby Dori was super cute!!! Like really cute. It was worth the ticket just for that. And the two whale/shark things, whatever they were I wasn’t paying too much attention, were pretty funny. I wish they’d been featured more.

 

Oh well. It wasn’t as much of a nostalgia fest as we all thought it would be…well not for me and Mabel anyway. It was still kind of cute and I hope all the little kids that were running around and talking and dropping things in the cinema with us enjoyed it. I’m sure they did.

 

What did you think of Finding Dori? Did you see it straight away? Or did you, like me, wait ages? Maybe you haven’t seen it. Why/why not? As usual let me know in the comments. Until next time. Just keep swimming! xx
 

 

Leave a Reply

